State of Origin 2024: New South Wales Blues confirmed team list, lineup, that might help the team lift…..

Michael Maguire

New South Wales are in the all-too-familiar position of attempting to ward off another Queensland dynasty with Billy Slater’s men looking to win three State of Origin series in a row this year.

Brad Fittler has left his post with Michael Maguire promising a new dawn for the Blues with the slate wiped clean.

NSW avoided a whitewash in 2023 with a much-changed side downing the Maroons 24-10, however, the likes of Cody Walker and Damien Cook have not been selected this time.

Instead, Maguire has prioritised picking players in form, while trying to build a hard-nosed identity that the state can rally around.

Below is his team for the 2024 opener.

NSW 2024 confirmed side for Game 1

1. James Tedesco
2. Brian To’o
3. Stephen Crichton
4. Joseph Suaalii
5. Zac Lomax
6. Jarome Luai
7. Nicho Hynes
8. Jake Trbojevic (c)
9. Reece Robson
10. Payne Haas
11. Liam Martin
12. Angus Crichton
13. Cameron McInnes

14. Isaah Yeo
15. Haumole Olakau’atu
16. Spencer Leniu
17. Hudson Young
18. Matt Burton

Blues team news

James Tedesco has been called in to replace Dylan Edwards, with the Panthers fullback set to miss his Origin debut with a quad injury.

Scott Drinkwater was listed as 18th man in the third and final game last season, while Clint Gutherson was named on the bench.

Stephen Crichton and Tom Trbojevic were expected to be selected as the centre pairing, however, injury disaster struck once again for the Manly star, with a hamstring issue sidelining him for up to two months.

Bradman Best looked in line to reclaim his spot in the centres but the hamstring epidemic across the competition hit him as well, ruling him out for at least Game 1.

This has opened the door for Joseph Suaalii to slot into the centres, with Zac Lomax to make his Blues debut on the wing.

Maguire had reportedly been watching Jesse Ramien closely, but he missed out along with Latrell Mitchell.

Brian To’o will start on the other wing.

Nathan Cleary was almost certain to be named at halfback but he now looks likely to miss the entire series, with first-choice replacement Mitch Moses also missing out for the opener due to injury.

This has seen Nicho Hynes named at halfback, despite the Cronulla playmaker going down with a calf injury ahead of selection day.

He will be partnered by Jarome Luai at five-eighth.

Payne Haas will be joined up front by Jake Trbojevic, who has also assumed the captaincy.

The Penrith connection will be strong for the opener with Liam Martin and Isaah Yeo named, while there is also a Blues debut for Manly enforcer Haumole Olakau’atu.

Angus Crichton has earned a starting berth on an edge.

Api Koroisau was predicted to take the No.9 jersey for Game I, although Reece Robson will now start at hooker.

Cameron McInnes will make his NSW debut at lock, with the ability to cover at dummy-half.

Hudson Young, meanwhile, has earned an interchange spot.

Young debuted for the Blues in the opener last year but was later dropped. The Canberra backrower has got the jump on Keaon Koloamatangi after the latter’s indifferent form for the Rabbitohs.

Spencer Leniu has beaten Stefano Utoikamanu to one of the remaining bench spots.

Matt Burton has been listed as 18th man for the Blues once again after fulfilling that role twice in last year’s series.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.